Turn left ahead. And by the way 50% off Mattresses: GPS marketing.

 It is that time of year again that flocks of geese head toward warmer weather. I have
always found it amazing how they find their way to the same place year after year without a GPS. That’s right, they do not have a GPS system strapped to their head. Today Americans can have GPS services available on their smartphone but a report from Market Research states that 900 million GPS devices are expected to ship by 2013 with revenue of 10 billion. That’s a lot of GPS’s. Combine that with the 66% of Americans ages 24-35 who own a smartphone , according to a Nielsen study. Another statistic from Digby states that 74% of consumers use location based services via their smartphone. 

But what does all this talk about smartphones and GPS services have to do with marketing? It means that marketing firms are creating location-based advertisements that pop up when you are in the company’s vicinity. For example, you are driving through an unknown town using your GPS and on the screen is an ad offering 50% off mattresses at Mattress City. WOW! Exactly what you were looking for all day, you have to stop in. And guess what, your GPS shows you exactly where to go.

Blast Companies, a marketing firm explains, Through GPS (Global Positioning Satellite) technology, when consumers enter a defined area (Geofence) they receive location-based marketing messages on their mobile phone.

See the YouTube video explaining in further detail.

I don’t know about you but when I am using my GPS, it is usually because I don’t know where I am going. The GPS giving me directions in busy traffic is confusing enough. Now I am going to have advertisements! The following YouTube video is a real life example of myself using the GPS when the ad for 50% off mattresses came across. Of course characters where changed among other things.

What do you think of advertising on GPS or location-based systems?

2 thoughts on “Turn left ahead. And by the way 50% off Mattresses: GPS marketing.

  1. Yea it seems the advertisement would really just be a shot in the dark for wht you might want and really could be more annoying than helpful. Plus even if it goes off of your recent searches that may be to late, I would hate to buy a new mattress jsut to find out 2 weeks later there is a sale in the area I was driving through. Better yet turn right in 20 feet and there is a sale on sports attire at Macy’s on your left. I don’t think I would like it very much.

  2. Margie, I think that would drive me crazy! I find the voice of the GPS annoying enough, if she started telling me to turn right for a 20% discount at Big 5 Sporting Goods I might throw her out the window! I am fortunate that when we typically use the GPS my husband is driving so I can mute it and just tell him where to go from looking at the map! ~ Joyce

Leave a Reply

